Don’t Bother Me, I Can’t Cope!

     “I have had a great deal of hurt in the theater both as a Negro and as a woman, but I don’t get immobilized by it,” she [Vinette Carol]  said an interview with The Los Angeles Times in 1967. “I tell myself that no one individual is going to make it impossible for me.”

    I have my down days. Today is one of them. The title of this post came to me this morning (after waking at 4:20 am and 5:48 am and again at 6:50 am) and comes from Vinette Carol’s Tony award winning play of the same name. I felt like Punxsutawney Phil each time I opened my eyes and all I could see was the shadow of unemployment looming. So I dove right back under the covers, until I had to get up. Thank God for my Tween-let.

    It is a day of questions. Why me? Why now? Today is a day of apathy.

    Thankfully, there is tomorrow.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Don’t Bother Me, I Can’t Cope!

  1. Angella Lister

    I’m praying with you, girl. Keep the faith. I linked you on my blogroll. Check it out at 37paddington.blogspot.com. So nice to be in touch. I know you will get through this, you and your precious girl! Much love.

Leave a Reply

