Blog o’ The Week–Letters To Your Former Employer

   After I got laid off, I wanted to write the nastiest letter to my boss, actually to a couple of people at my now former job, especially the insincere ones and the ones that always rubbed me the wrong way. That’s when I heard it. No not the voice of God or my conscious. The voice of my Step-Dad, “Don’t burn  bridges Rhonda. You never know when you are going to need someone again, just lay them aside for now and you can pick them up later.” Sage advice. I still wrote the letter, but I kept it to myself.  

   You don’t have to, just go on over to Letters To Your Former Employer and post there. It’s a fun website, appropriately mean-spirited and dedicated to helping you vent about your former company or boss. Go on… click it. 

   Something spectacular is just around the bend…

1 Comment

Filed under March

One response to “Blog o’ The Week–Letters To Your Former Employer

  1. Hello there,

    I would encourage EVERY person who is fired or who resigns from an employer where there are shady people to take the high road… you never know where these shady people will end up and some WILL have positions of power one day and will seek to retaliate. Never underestimate the stupidity of some employers to hire shady people in positions of authority and trust.

    It’s always best to just leave the scene without exposing any bad feelings.

    The flip side is that some people who may have been very unethical towards you at one company may be the ones to recommend you at some other company…why…because they know that you know your stuff and they are only trying to make themselves look good. It really has nothing to do with trying to make amends.

    It’s hard to hold your tongue when slamming the door shut…but it is the wisest decision you can make for yourself professionally.

    Peace, blessings and DUNAMIS!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

