Passion! Get it! Hold On To It!

I had another dream about lions at the door.

They weren’t half as frightening as they were before.

But I’m thinking about eternity.

Some kind of ecstasy got a hold on me

– Bruce Cockburn

 

     It has been 45 days since I was laid off. On February 3, the day I was released, the jobless rate in California was 10.5 per cent; new numbers will be released on April 17. I don’t expect the numbers to be any better. We are still shedding Hummers and houses, re-prioritizing what is important and learning to be efficient with less.

     45 days ago I was the same hopeful person that I am now, but struggling with passion, how to connect with it and how to sustain it, in spite of circumstance. And by circumstance I mean bitchy bosses, vengeful exes and fractured ankles, whatever pitch life decides to throw at you. I’ve learned it doesn’t matter.

     Good things come in three’s, connecting to and sustaining your passion is no different. 

   1. Think.

     There was a newscast that used to begin something like this, “From the mountains, to the desert and to the sea, to all of Southern California, good evening.” Pick your favorite and go there, physically or mentally. Do not answer the phone, do not take a laptop, just sit and listen to your thoughts. As they come, don’t judge them. Just let them be. Ask yourself, whom would you be if no one were watching? What would you do for free?

    2. Speak. Write.

       This is where resistance sneaks in. I’m not a writer, I don’t want to tell anyone, and I don’t have time. I’ve heard and said them all. It’s crap. Ignore it. This is important. Articulate the answer to that question. Write, rap it, poem it, paint it, collage it… you get the picture.

    3. Do.

     Be that person; be in that skin if even for but a moment. Try it out on new people that you meet. They have no idea who you were and will experience who you are. The you that is doing their passion. The people that know you might look at you strangely and nod in an annoying knowing way, but what they say and what they think don’t matter. Your passion matters, so do it. Everyday.

     This third step is the most important. It feels self-indulgent. Do it anyway.

     Something spectacular is just around the bend…

Leave a comment

Filed under March

Leave a Reply

