The Recession Bunny–When Belief Just Keeps Going and Going and Going…

     The Tween-let believes is all things magical, Santa, The Tooth Fairy, fairies in general, leprechauns, unicorns and of course the Easter Bunny. She writes them letters, bakes them cookies and on St. Patrick’s Day commented, “Mom would you believe I haven’t seen a leprechaun all day!” Really. There’s something sweet about her faith in things unseen and I have encouraged it, until now.

    When I was working, I had a lot of fun answering Tooth Fairy letters, munching on burnt cookies and dry carrots left for Santa and his reindeer. Easter was challenge as the Bunny was a wild hare who left tufts of cotton in his wake and a pattern of bunny paw prints (I made with talcum powder) that led to chocolate eggs and ultimately an Easter basket filled with springtime p.j.’s. This was a favorite of the Tween, as she loves nothing more than a scavenger hunt. None of this was expensive but it did require a bit of planning.

     I dropped the ball, err egg this time around. Fractured ankles, my current jobless status, and graduate school have taken my mind off of all things magical and into the realm of reality. Every dollar counts.

    My Mom thinks this will be a great lesson for the Tween-let. She will remember the year her mom was laid off and there was no Easter Bunny, chocolate eggs, or brand new p.j.’s, she thinks it’s time for her to stop believing in mythological creatures.

    “So you want me to tell her not to believe? You have to admit there’s something sweet about it.” My mother agrees but is insistent that I tell her the truth. I can’t. 

    Belief or faith is what gets me through. Sometimes it’s a thick rope that I use to swing through the jungle of circumstances that appear before me. Other times, it’s a thin thread and I can barely feel it in my hand, and I doubt that  it’s strong enough to get me over. That’s when I get a phone call because someone is thinking of me, or the Tween-let says something to make me laugh. I don’t want to tell her not to believe, because things have changed for us with this recent job loss and perhaps the Easter Bunny and all her magical creatures get her through. We all need something to believe in and it needs to keep going and going and going.

Something spectacular is just around the bend…

Leave a comment

Filed under March

Leave a Reply

